New Year Tidings…

sparklers!

sparklers!

Oh, New Years Eve…The holiday that I am never that eager to celebrate.  I chalk it up to the complete annoyance of being around people who are drunk out of their brains, but to be honest, I think it’s because of a rather awful one I had a few years ago.  The last night of 2006.  I already knew that my then-husband had been cheating on me and this was our trial period to see if we could actually recover from that.  We didn’t.  During this trial he was staying at his dad’s house.  After dropping me off, he said he was going back there.  I didn’t believe him so I waited a few minutes and then drove down to “her” house.  Sure enough, his car was parked there.

Needless to say, that was it for me.  I left out a lot of details that really don’t need to be rehashed.  I did the crying, dealt with the anger and healed.  It is a sad story and I don’t tell it to be a downer.  I remember that moment and while it was extremely painful, it was a propeller.  While I may have felt confusion about what to do up until then, at that moment there was no question.  I had already given the second chance and definitely didn’t have the capacity to give a third.

While New Years symbolizes many things to many people, for me it is a reminder of how far I’ve come.  An opportunity to start a new phase of my life.  I think a lot of people have their own self-reflection and decide what needs changing in the coming year.

For me, I will try to give more of myself.

This New Years Eve was nothing fancy.  Tristan was working and I hung out with my sister and her family.  We went to a friend’s house for fondue.  Yum.

I was home and in bed by 11.  Boring?  Maybe.  I thought it was great.  Then my phone rang at 2am…the husband had locked his keys in his car.  So, I thought I had gotten away with avoiding the downtown madness.  Nope.  Got in the car to bring him the spare key and as I was driving toward 16th and Champa I learned a few things about drunk people.

1.  Drunk people think that every passing car is a taxi.  They proceed to hang in the road and try to flag down whoever may stop.

2.  Drunk people hitchhike.  After realizing their chance of flagging down a taxi is very small, they resort to hitchhiking.

3.  They think they can fly.  Yes.  Arms up and out, stumbling around the streets.  Somewhat entertaining but also terrifying at the same time because you know, the street has moving cars in it.

After driving around at 2am, seeing the vast majority of pedestrians doing one or more of the above mentioned things, I think it’s safe to say that there are some things that become more obvious as “drunken” behavior.  Especially on New Years Eve due to the amount of people out on the streets.

I got home shortly after that quick adventure and climbed back into bed.  I thought a little bit about the year ahead and what I hope for it.  Whether you make resolutions or think it’s all crap, I hope this year is full of life and new adventures for you.  Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “New Year Tidings…

Leave a Reply

